Buncombe County Government List of Principal Officials June 30, 2009

Board of Commissioners



David Gantt, Chairman

David Gantt, an attorney, is serving his fourth term on the Board. He is currently an active member of the Boards of the Asheville Regional Airport Authority, Eblen Charities, Asheville Buncombe Community Relations Council, Land of Sky Regional Council, and Martin Luther King, Jr. Committee. Commissioner Gantt is an advocate for education and the working people of Buncombe County.



Bill Stanley, Vice Chairman

A retired high school coach and principal, Bill Stanley is serving his sixth term. In addition to his local involvement in civic affairs, he is a former President of the North Carolina Association of County Commissioners and is currently serving as a member of the Metropolitan Sewage District Board, MPO, RPO, Land of Sky Regional Council and Civic Center Task Force. Commissioner Stanley was recently appointed to the NC Advisory Commission on Military Affairs by Senate President Pro Tem Marc Basnight.



K. Ray Bailey, Commissioner

Commissioner K. Ray Bailey was elected to the Buncombe County Board of Commissioners in 2008. He is the President Emeritus of Asheville Buncombe Technical Community College where he served for 42 years, the last 15 as president. Commissioner Bailey currently serves on the Economic Development Coalition and the Tourism Development Authority.



Holly Jones, Commissioner

Commissioner Holly Jones was elected to the Buncombe County Board of Commissioners in 2008. She served on Asheville City Council from 2001-2008. She currently serves on the Transportation Advisory Committee, Community Energy Advisory Committee and Land of Sky Council. Commissioner Jones works as the executive director of the YWCA in downtown Asheville.



Carol Peterson, Commissioner

A fifth generation native of Buncombe County and a retired Director of Vocation for the Asheville City Schools, Carol Peterson is serving her second term of office. She also serves as the Chair for Asheville Buncombe Technical Community College Board of Trustees, and on Boards for Children First, College for Seniors, UNC-A, Juvenile Crime Prevention Committee, Pack Place and Smart Start.